KELP announces details for HILOTRONS’ “At Least There’s Commotion” /

October 18, 2012

OCTOBER 18, 2012 (Ottawa, ON) – Kelp is very proud to announce the release of the new HILOTRONS album “At Least There’s Commotion,” out February 5th, 2013 (CD, 180g vinyl, digital).

The long-awaited followup to their Polaris-nominated “Happymatic” (2008), Commotion saw leader Michael Dubue return to Ottawa’s Bova Sound, working alone this time out with drummer/engineer Philip Shaw Bova. Fusing the recognizable influences of HILOTRONS past (Talking Heads, Devo, Talk Talk) with that of electro pop pioneers such as Peter Gabriel, Kate Bush and TV-theme composer Mike Post, Dubue has emerged with a deep, hook-laden work, his best to

Commotion is also the most raw and personal album we’ve seen from HILOTRONS. The album’s storyline weaves from heartbreak to reconciliation, through the eyes of those who suffer from personality disorders, as well as their friends and lovers.

An Ottawa musical who’s who is here, including Juno winner Lynn Miles and singer/songwriter Jim Bryson (bonus track “Shouldice Road”), Jeremy Fisher (on the succulent “Runaway Heart”), Sacha Gabriel, Geoffrey Pye (Yellow Jacket Avenger) and 613 ex-pat Michael Feuerstack (Snailhouse).

A free download for the album’s first single “Runaway Heart” is here to share. We have also posted the first two in a series of performance videos shot by Southern Souls, who are documenting every song on Commotion to be eventually released in a unique online interactive map of the picturesque Ottawa/Outaouais region.

HILOTRONS perform this coming Saturday October 20th at Wakefield, QC at the legendary Black Sheep Inn, in the last-ever show to feature the original band lineup.

Dubue will also perform this month as part of the Ottawa Writer’s Festival, presenting the world debut of his radio play Eschatos on Tuesday October 30th at Knox Presbyterian Church at 6:30pm, as well as an intimate musical performance of HILOTRONS songs from Commotion later that evening at 10:00pm at Arc Hotel with cellist Octavie Dostaler-Lalonde.

Further HILOTRONS tour dates will be announced later this year.

TRACK LIST for At Least There’s Commotion:

1. Venus at Your Backdoor
2. Runaway Heart
3. Not There Tonight
4. The Halifax Commotion
5. My Number
6. She Knows My Condition (Part 1)
7. She Knows My Condition (Part 2)
8. Uncontrollable Me / Uncontrollable You
9. Modern Way Woman
10. Danger World
11. Emergency

Bonus Track (for LP/digital purchasers): Shouldice Road

SOUNDCLOUD stream/download of “Runaway Heart”


HILOTRONS – Runaway Heart from kelprecords on Vimeo.

HILOTRONS – Not There Tonight from kelprecords on Vimeo.

Keep up with HILOTRONS activity on Facebook and Twitter.


 homepage, news, new_albums