The Flaps
The Flaps

THE FLAPS rise from the ashes with AGAIN! /

February 28, 2013


Ottawa’s favourite instro weirdos The Flaps (Pat Lawlor, John Higney, Martin Newman, and Jamie Gullikson) have returned with the long anticipated followup to 2005′s self-titled debut. Again will see release on Kelp Records on CD/Digital formats on March 19th, 2013.

In the (LONG) years since The Flaps’ debut, their “songs reminiscent of European B-movie soundtracks filtered through the proto-psychedelia of The Ventures in Space” have morphed into something even harder to pin down. On Again, The Flaps’ hybrid of disassembled surf, non-standard arrangements of jazz standards, and obscure covers give way to a new and even more original instrumental voice that embraces both the dark and the light.

The Flaps’ have kept busy with a CBC commission for a song commemorating the 40th anniversary of Glenn Gould’s “Idea of North,” as well as a commission to compose and perform a live soundtrack to F.W. Murnau’s classic silent film “Faust.” These projects have driven The Flaps’ sound to a darker, more textured dimension where minor keys reign supreme.

Again is searing guitars (“Mephisto,” “Strange Guests”) and bombastic builds (“Waltz,” “What Is the Word”). The Flaps have again established themselves as visual music makers, creating truly synesthetic headphone soundtracks for music lovers that like to go deep. You may find yourself continuously turning to see what’s behind you, but that’s part of the fun, right?

Track Listing:
1. Oriental Twist
2. Smells Like Awesome
3. Mo Maui
4. This Sight of Death
5. Mephisto
6. Dunebuggy
7. Day of Languor
8. Night is Going to Fall
9. Strange Guests
10. Waltz
11. The Importance of Understanding Clouds
12. The Wiper
13. What is the Word?



THE FLAPS album release in Ottawa
w/ Michael Dubue (HILOTRONS), Remi Royale
Gluepot Pub (Ottawa, ON)
9pm, $10
Facebook Event

more tour dates to follow this spring

THE FLAPS’ Facebook Page

PR / Radio:
Jon Bartlett
Kelp Records